Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)


What is the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)?

The CMMC 2.0 program is an initiative by the US Department of Defense (DoD) to enhance cybersecurity standards within its supply chain. This updated version of CMMC introduces a unified cybersecurity framework to assess and certify contractors and subcontractors.


CMMC 2.0 Model Structure

The CMMC is a comprehensive framework that addresses all aspects of cybersecurity pertaining to processes, practices, and requirements, designed to help organizations of all sizes and industries improve their cybersecurity posture. The CMMC 2.0 model has three levels: Foundational, Advanced, and Expert. The specific requirements for CMMC assessment vary depending on the level of certification that an organization needs to achieve.


Protected Information Definition

The CMMC is designed to protect Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) shared with contractors and subcontractors of the DoD through acquisition programs. FCI includes nonpublic information provided to or generated for the government under contracts, excluding public website data and simple transactional information.


Key Changes Under CMMC 2.0

The CMMC 2.0 framework incorporates significant changes to cybersecurity certification within the DoD supply chain. It introduces a unified framework, different certification levels, and third-party assessments, and emphasizes security maturity and process improvement to enhance the protection of sensitive information.

Here are some of the key changes incorporated under the CMMC 2.0 framework:

  • Reduced number of levels: CMMC 2.0 has reduced the number of maturity levels from five to three: Foundational, Advanced, and Expert. This is to make the framework more streamlined and easier to understand for organizations of all sizes.
  • Increased focus on NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF): CMMC 2.0 is more closely aligned with the NIST CSF, which is a widely accepted cybersecurity standard. This will make it easier for organizations to implement CMMC 2.0 if they are already familiar with the NIST CSF.
  • More flexibility for organizations: CMMC 2.0 gives organizations more flexibility in how they meet the requirements for each level of certification. This is to make the framework more adaptable to the specific needs of each organization.
  • Increased focus on third-party assessments: CMMC 2.0 requires third-party assessments for all organizations that operate at Level 2 or higher. This is to help ensure that these organizations meet the required cybersecurity standards.

Cybersecurity Maturity Model
Certification (CMMC)

The CMMC is a framework that helps organizations improve their cybersecurity posture. The framework is based on three levels of maturity, from basic to advanced.

Here are the areas where we can help you in complying with CMMC:

  • Assessing your current cybersecurity posture
  • Developing a plan to improve your maturity level
  • Implementing the necessary security controls
  • Getting certified to the appropriate CMMC level

Comprehensive solutions and services to meet any and all of your
security needs, including:


Security Assessments

Comprehensive, ongoing evaluations of your business and IT environment allow us to identify and minimize your risks


Email Security

Comprehensive, ongoing evaluations of your business and IT environment allow us to identify and minimize your risks


Backup & Disaster

Comprehensive, ongoing evaluations of your business and IT environment allow us to identify and minimize your risks


Dark Web Monitoring

Proactive scanning, real-time alerts, and other intelligence capabilities help stop your private information from being exploited


User Training

Up to date, practical knowledge and skills help your staff use technology safely and eliminate threats


24/7 Network Monitoring

Advanced firewalls, strict user access controls, 24/7 intrusion monitoring and prevention, and more to protect you at the perimeter